The Company of Players (CoPs) - Hertford

Wednesday 18th October 2023, 8.00 pm at the Little Theatre

The Annual General Meeting is for every member of CoPs: Full, Friend, Life, Honorary Life. You will hear what has been done on your behalf by the Management Committee, what is planned for the future and, very importantly, it will give you the opportunity to have your say about the running of your company.

Election to the Management Committee

Nominations for the Management Committee have now closed, and the current position is as follows.
  • The Chairman (elected for two years), following the decision by Loretta Freeman not to stand for a further year, there is one nomination, and that is Chris Janes.
  • The Honorary Secretary (elected for two years) has completed the first year of his second term in office, is prepared to stand for one more year.
  • The Honorary Treasurer (elected for two years) having completed the second year of his first term in office, and Theo Berkhout is prepared to stand again.
  • The seven Committee members are elected annually, and the following eight nominations have been received: Ken Allford, Laura Ilinca, Andy Lee, Hannah Leonard, Paul Morton, Angela Reiss, Chris Smith and Jonathon Wallis.

    There will therefore be an election to decide the seven Members.  Nominees’ personal statements can be read here.

Members unable to attend the AGM may submit a vote by email or post, which must be received by the Honorary Secretary by midnight Tuesday 17th October. A voting form is available here and members may vote for a maximum of seven candidates. Derek Palmer,  Honorary Secretary, 9 Welwyn Road, Hertford, SG14 2BD, (

Meeting Agenda

  1. Apologies for absence
  2. To read and approve the Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting
  3. Matters arising from the Minutes
  4. Honorary Treasurer’s Report. (To receive and approve the independently examined accounts of the Company for the year 2022 – 2023)
  5. To appoint the Honorary Independent Examiner for the ensuing year
  6. To receive the Honorary Chairwoman’s Report
  7. To elect the Management Committee for the ensuing year
  8. To elect Honorary Life Members as may be recommended by the Management Committee
  9. Confirmation or revision of annual subscription rates. The Management Committee does not propose any change.
  10. Any Other Business. (Prior notice of this should be sent to the Hon Secretary before 11th October 2023)